Director General's Report to Council for August 2023

by Cindy Finn, Director General, LBPSB

I would like to begin my report this month by extending a very warm welcome to everyone. I hope your summer has been a good one, filled with happiness and opportunities to rest and recharge.

At the time of this writing, we are days away from the start of a new term, and we are beginning the 2023-24 school year with a sense of shared optimism and anticipation. Back to school is always a time of excitement and renewed energy throughout our system. We have been busy preparing for the return of students at the primary and secondary levels and the start of a new term or program in continuing education.

As Director General, I am extremely proud of the work that is carried out by our staff in order to be ready for a new school year. In fact, our staffing and planning have been ongoing for weeks and months. Throughout the summer period, many renovation and maintenance projects were carried out in our network of buildings. All of our schools, centres, and Head Office get a thorough cleaning in preparation for the return of students and staff members. From the shining of floors to the hiring of staff to the preparation of classrooms, our personnel work very hard to start the year on the best footing possible.

I thank our returning staff members for all of your hard work, and I extend a warm welcome to teachers, professionals, administrators and support staff who are new to the Lester B. Pearson School Board. I also say welcome back to some staff who may be returning to us after some time away. I include in that welcome Assistant Director Steven Colpitts who has returned to us at Lester B. Pearson. We are very excited to have him with us in the Directorate this year.

Classes resume in the youth sector on Thursday August 31st, and we are very eager to see our returning students again and to welcome our new learners! I will be out visiting schools in the coming days to greet students and staff.

Every school year is a special one in the life of a student. Growth and learning take place on so many levels – physically, cognitively, emotionally, socially. So much happens in the course of a school year, and it is a privilege to work in a field based on change, positivity and growth.

It is my wish that the 2023-2024 school year is one filled with adventure, awe, and the fulfillment of dreams. This year is also special for another reason: Lester B. Pearson School Board is celebrating its 25th year of operations. Our school board came into existence on July 1, 1998 with the fusion of six school boards, and the last quarter century has been spent building a culture of excellence founded on our values of community, respect, integrity, inclusion, and innovation. We will mark this milestone in a variety of ways over the next several months, and I invite everyone in the Lester B. community to participate in the celebrations.

Our achievements are the result of hard work and the coming together of all who seek to support public education. We should be proud of what we have achieved together, and I look forward to our continued success as a school board.

Again, welcome back, and bonne rentrée scolaire!

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.