Commitment to Equity, Diversity,
Dignity and Inclusion.

by the Lester B. Pearson School Board

In late March, the L.B.P.S.B. published its Commitment to E.D.D.I., part of the ongoing push to achieve greater Equity, Diversity, Dignity, and Inclusion.

The Lester B. Pearson School Board is committed to equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI). It is understood that achieving excellence by maximizing the potential of each individual requires that:
• equity work be central
• diversity be viewed as ‘normalized difference’ and
• inclusion is understood as ‘belonging before achieving’

EDI work assumes greater significance when dignity is upheld as the mechanism through which EDI values are championed. Dignity means being worthy of honour and not being ‘othered’, hence the acronym EDDI. Highlighting dignity emphasizes the need to humanize EDI work and demands inquiry into abuses of power. The Lester B. Pearson School Board affirms dignity as an inalienable right. Leveraging empathy and vulnerability, EDDI strengthens the Lester B. Pearson School Board’s values of integrity, respect and community.1

To read more about the Lester B. Pearson School Boards continuous commitment to EDDI, please click here.

1Cobb, Floyd, Krownapple, John. Belonging Through a Culture of Dignity: The Keys to Successful Equity Implementation. Mimi & Todd, 2019