The Prime Minister and the Paper Doll

by Karina Iermieri, Gr. 1 Teacher at Maple Grove,

photos by Adam Scotti (Photographer to the Prime Minister)

When a Maple Grove teacher tried to brighten her students’ day, she ended up confirming that “once a teacher, always a teacher” in a delightful way…

In September I told my students how badly I missed traveling.

I told them about the story of “Flat Stanley/ Clement Aplati” who traveled the world in an envelope.

So I decided to have them make paper dolls with the intention of sending them around the world. One student asked “can we send it to our president?” Why not? Our Prime Minister was a teacher after all! So I sent it via “snail mail” to Prime Minister Trudeau, not really expecting a reply.

When talking about my travels and the world, I realized that these are “COVID kids”. Their only real connection to the world is COVID and what country has what variant… they are sadly too young to remember travels and trips.


Today however, I received something unexpected… thanks to Adam Scotti (the official photographer of Justin Trudeau) who worked his magic!Our Prime Minister read our letter and took time out to make 14 students from Lachine, Qc (and their teacher too) extremely happy!

I guess it’s true what they say, once a teacher, always a teacher!

Zoom in on the pictures and see our doll wearing a Maple Grove uniform!

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.