Task Force Report and Recommendations

Lester B. Pearson School Board Administration

Task Force

In June 2021, the Lester B. Pearson School Board’s Council of Commissioners received the final report of the Task Force on Equity and Inclusivity that was overseen by Dr. Myrna Lashley. It was a very comprehensive and detailed report with over 120 recommendations designed to bolster the school board’s commitment to taking a more active role in terms of addressing racism, injustice and discrimination of any kind across its different schools and centres. The recommendations focused on 5 specific areas: genders, sexualities, abilities, race and ethnicities, and religions.

Following reception of the report, copies in both French and English have been posted on the school board website. Electronic and printed copies were also sent to each school and shared with all LBPSB staff members with a request that everyone read and review the report. An ad-hoc committee was then formed comprised of staff from various departments. During the early fall, this committee met on multiple occasions to study the report in detail in order to review all the recommendations with the goal of creating an action plan that will guide the LBPSB’s efforts to improve the learning and social environments for students and staff.

As well, an Equity, Diversity and Inclusivity (EDI) Steering committee has been hard at work to set the school board’s action planning process in motion. Since our goal is to have all departments, school and centres engage meaningfully in this process, working committees have also been created. A phase-based approach to respond to the recommendations has been implemented in order to set objectives and targets for a series of measures that can be realized in the short-term while addressing medium to long-term objectives and targets that will follow at a later date.

The Task Force report will help to serve as a road map to ensure that our school board continues to address issues of inequity and marginalization that have negative consequences for students and staff. We are fully committed to implementing their recommendations and building on our values of community, respect, inclusion, integrity, and innovation.
To view a copy of the report, please click on the following link: