A Week of Celebration for the Adult Learners of the LBPCE

by Helena Tsitouras

Adult Learners’ Week is an annual event that celebrates the perseverance, resilience, and dedication of adult students who are part of the Lester B. Pearson Continuing Education (LBPCE).

This year’s event took place from April 24th to April 28th, culminating in a Virtual Celebration Event on April 27th. The week-long celebration is an opportunity to honour and recognize students who have chosen to continue their education despite potential obstacles.

Eight centres participated in this event. Each centre nominated ten students who exemplified the qualities of determination, strength, and commitment to their studies. Additionally, each centre selected a guest speaker who shared their inspiring stories of their academic journey and their goals for the future.

Maggie Soldano, Director of the Continuing Education Department of the LBPSB, said, “This event is a testament to the dedication and hard work of those who have chosen to continue their education as adults, despite the challenges and obstacles they may have faced along the way.” The event recognized the significant efforts of adult learners and aimed to celebrate student success stories.

The Virtual Celebration Event was an opportunity to hear from the student speakers, celebrate the achievements of the nominated students and learn more about the importance of continuing education and Vocational Studies. The LBPSB invites anyone interested to watch the online event to witness the inspiring stories and the commitment to education demonstrated by our adult learners.

Overall, Adult Learners’ Week was a reminder that it’s never too late to pursue education and that perseverance and dedication can lead to great achievements.

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.