Beurling Academy Robotics Launches Drone Program

by Helena Tsitouras

Beurling Academy has recently launched something new and exciting: a drone program! The BA Drone Program is an extension of its innovative robotics program ran by teacher Amandeep Mann. This course aims to teach students the basic rules, regulations, safety, piloting, and imaging techniques behind flying a drone.

The school partnered with a local pilot school, Yuldrone, who provided the students with a certified instructor who meets with them on a weekly basis. They are trained in techniques such as photogrammetry, a technique that uses photographs from vantage points.

A total of 19 students take part in the program, including secondary four robotics students and a few members of BA’s robotics club. They are able to practice their flight skills from the comfort of their own school yard and it has become a favourite event in the week amongst students. “I’m loving it,” said grade 10 student, Robert S. “I can’t wait to take the drone over our school and record!”

The weekly drone flying sessions will continue to the end of December and into the new year. All students in the secondary four robotics program will write their basic piloting license exam with transport Canada by the end of the academic year. Students over the age of 16 will get further training on advanced piloting and will be encouraged to write their advanced pilot exams through Transport Canada.

The Drone program is part of Beurling Academy’s Robotics Program, an inventive and exciting product of Amandeep Mann’s efforts. The program is divided into four main sections: Drone Program, Robotics, 3D Printing Lab, and eSports, also known as the Thundercats! “My goal is to expand the definition and range of a school robotics program while giving students skills that they can carry with them following graduation.” Explained Amandeep. With the introduction of new programs such as drone flying, and entering Thundercats in GMAA eSports, robotics students have a lot to look forward to this school year.

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.