A Literacy Advantage at Riverview

by Dan Mullins

Late this summer, a group of young people had a great time and got an advantage at Riverview Elementary… a CampVantage!

Thanks to dedicated staff who created a unique opportunity for students and a community ready to get involved, CampVantage went off without a hitch.

A grant from Réseau Réussite Montréal, a regional organisation which promotes school perseverance and the success of young people, was used to finance the camp which was free for the 21 student participants. It ran for nine weekdays in August and included a healthy breakfast, making it easy for students to start the day fully energised.

The main objective was to focus on literacy skills and to gear up for school. This was achieved through play and hands-on activities. Play is learning, and learning was happening throughout the camp, whether during a game of multiplication hopscotch, while gathering items in nature, or when students gave one another superpowers en français. The camp was designed to provide an enjoyable way to transition back to school while reviewing the knowledge they acquired in previous years.

“We wanted to ignite the fire that would engage them throughout the school year,” explained Allison Brown, principal of Riverview.Ms. Paolina, Ms. Kelly, Ms. Tina and Mme Laurence’s enthusiasm and expertise was very evident, and much appreciated.

Was CampVantage a success? You can probably judge from some of the community reactions:

“This is such an awesome project to get kids back into learning! Love this!”

“What an awesome program you guys made! Thank you so much for inviting me to this wonderful program!”

“So so so Awesome! What an initiative!”

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.