Captain of the Montreal Canadiens visits Maple Grove

by Helena Tsitouras

On September 18, Maple Grove Elementary welcomed a special guest to their school… Nick Suzuki, captain of the Montreal Canadiens! Suzuki paid a visit to the school to spend quality time with cycle 3 students.

The captain was visiting with GoodFood as their ambassador, and Breakfast Club of Canada, whose mission is to ensure that students across the country start their days with full stomachs. The Breakfast Club of Canada services nearly 2 million students across Canada, including Maple Grove Elementary School. 

As part of their visit to the school, GoodFood has pledged to donate 1 million meals to the Breakfast Club, and captain Nick Suzuki contributed a signed cheque for $10,000.

The day included a Q&A session, where students were welcomed to ask Suzuki various questions. They were especially curious about his childhood, his favourite foods, and of course, playing for the Montreal Canadiens. Upon answering the students’ questions, the captain posed for a photo with each classroom, ensuring they left with a memento to remember this day.

To conclude the event, Suzuki, GoodFoods, and the Breakfast Club of Canada distributed healthy snacks to the students including cheese, oranges, and apples. One student enthusiastically claimed it was the best apple he had ever tasted!

The entire event left a lasting impact on the students of Maple Grove Elementary, who not only had the privilege of meeting the Habs captain, but also gained valuable insights into the importance of nutrition and community.

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.