Feed Our Future Program Continues To Provide Free Meals To LBPSB Students In Need

by Darren Becker

This year Lester B. Pearson School Board students in need will once again be able to enjoy free meals thanks to the Feed Our Future program whose aim is to ensure no child goes hungry at lunch.

The program is made possible thanks to the contributions of several West Island restaurants who prepare meals that are subsequently delivered to different LBPSB schools.
The initiative began in 2021 during the COVID pandemic when Feed Our Future organizer Corey Szwarcok decided to help promote local businesses by starting a Facebook group with Danny Azoulay called West Island Restaurants. It was designed to support local restaurants who were hit hard by public health restrictions. These included decisions to limit orders to take-out and closing dining rooms. Through the page, Szwarcok established relationships with several restauranteurs who also wanted to do something meaningful and give back to the community. He subsequently contacted the LBPSB to see if the school board could benefit from the program.
“Two years after the pandemic started and given the current state of the economy a lot of schools and families continue to need support. Many restaurants want to remain involved in the Feed Our Future program as it’s such a rewarding initiative,” said Szwarcok.
This year’s edition of the Feed our Future program started on January 31st when Duke and Devines provided lunches for students at Maple Grove and Del Frisco’s provided lunches for students at Kingsdale. Meals will be delivered to different schools in the coming weeks.

The chefs at Del Friscos put fresh chicken penne into individual serving containers.

Other restaurants participating in the program this year include:
Rock N Deli (Fairview)
Pizzeria Bros (West Island)
Quesada (DDO in Centennial Plaza)
Del Friscos
Rotisserie Gicanu (Marche de L’ouest)
Pizzeria No 900 (Vaudreuil)
Dukes & Devine’s (Beaconsfield)
Kitchen 73 (DDO-Behind Centennial Plaza)
Amy’s Dejeuner (St. John Blvd.)
Baton Rouge (St. John Blvd.)

“It’s very heartwarming to see all of these local businesses contributing to Feed Our Future as unfortunately there are still a lot of hungry kids in our schools,” said LBPSB Food Management Technician Janet Maccullie.

One of the owners of Del Friscos helps pack the food for delivery

“People tend to think the West Island is a fairly affluent area but for a lot of different reasons, families are finding it hard to make ends meet so we have kids in many of our schools that need a little help.”
Szwarcok said he would like to expand the program to include more restaurants and schools in the future.
“Ultimately we are limited in terms of the help we can provide as the demand is so high, but this has been such a positive community-based initiative and we would like to see it continue to grow so we can help improve the quality of life of as many kids as possible.”

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.