Felicia Parrillo & Bradley Heaven Named Honorary Co-Chairs for LBPSB’s 25th Celebrations

by Darren Becker

To mark the occasion of the LBPSB’s 25-year anniversary the school board has named two Honorary Co-Chairs for the year-long celebrations. They are Bradley Heaven, Class of 2015 (entrepreneur, disabilities advocate) and Felicia Parrillo, Class of 2008 (Global News Journalist).

“I’m extremely humbled and honoured to be part of the LBPSB’s 25th anniversary. As a proud alumna I’m excited for the opportunity to share my fond memories of my years studying at the LBPSB — how it helped me discover my strengths, passions and prepare me for the next chapter of my life,” said Felicia Parrillo.

“Being named honorary co-chair for the LBPSB’s 25th celebrations is truly an honour as attending John Rennie High School was one of the best experiences of my life. It helped shape the person I am today. While I have nonverbal spastic cerebral palsy and am in a wheelchair, I immediately felt accepted at school and was welcomed warmly by staff and students. I now run a business that aims to empower people with disabilities and make our world more accessible and I can’t thank the LBPSB enough for putting me on this career path and allowing me to improve the quality of life of so many people,” said Bradley Heaven.

Throughout the year, the school board plans to promote different activities, including special edition social media campaigns, news articles, archived documents from the LBPSB vault and commemorative merchandise. Also, at the end of September there will be a tree planting ceremony and special banner unveiling at Head Office.

The Lester B. Pearson School Board opened its doors on July 1st, 1998, following the merger of six existing school boards:
• La Commission Scolaire, Baldwin-Cartier

• La Commission Scolaire du Sault-Saint-Louis

• La Commission Scolaire des Trois-Lacs

• La Commission des Écoles Catholiques de Verdun

• The Lakeshore School Board

• The Protestant School Board of Greater Montreal

Today, the LBPSB is one of the largest English school boards in Québec and serves the English-eligible population on the western end of Montreal Island and off-island territory in the Monteregie-Ouest.

Check out the Minutes of the First Meeting of the Council and the Historical Document we’re also featuring in this issue for more information on the history of the board.

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.