Kindness Towards Kids in Care at Horizon High School

by Dan Mullins

Helping for the Holidays

The leadership group at Horizon High School under the direction of teacher Louise Pion, and in collaboration with Batshaw Youth and Family Services, decided to make a change this year. 
For three years, Pion and her class have been supplying care packages to West Island charities, even distributing them by hand to people in need on the streets of Montreal before the pandemic made that impossible. (You can read about the project in last December’s issue here.)

This year, the students wanted to focus on younger children. So, they decided to provide gifts for the holidays to 14 children, ages 6-12, that are in care. The idea came from the students, some of whom have had experience with similar living situations. Batshaw was able to provide the profiles of 14 children, including their situation, there likes, needs, personalities – but not their names, due to privacy concerns.
The students held a bake sale and collected donations. The five students in the leadership class each picked 2 children, while Ms. Pion and other staff at Horizon handled the remainder. Carefully considering the children’s profiles, they individually made their way to stores alone or in groups, and bought items to be delivered for the holidays.
We are planning a follow-up story on this group of Horizon students and their involvement with students in care, so keep your eyes peeled over the coming issues of the Pearson News.

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.