LCCHS Holds Massive Annual Food Drive

by Dan Mullins

Helping for the Holidays

For the past 25 years at least, LaSalle Community Comprehensive High School has held a food drive. Over the years it has grown to be a massive event, bringing in students and staff along with alumni and members of the community. These days, they can provide around 50 baskets.

The approach is to do everything. They say yes to everyone who asks for help. They hold fundraisers, including but not limited to selling Krispy Kreme doughnuts this December, and have sponsors, including IGA Beck’s generous donations. Students distribute flyers to houses throughout the community informing households of the date and time at which students will return to collect donations.

On the collection night, a huge workforce of students, staff, alumni, and other volunteers fans out across LaSalle to collect bags of good and other donations. The logistics are impressive, with drivers and streets assigned to teams of volunteers.

The event is organized in part by Derek Mott, a science teacher at LCCHS for the past 20 years, who took it over after the retirement of Paul Sowney and Bob McKinnon. 

Baskets go directly to members of the community in need, and additional items and donations are made to charitable organizations, including St. Willibrord’s and Manna Verdun.

This event was covered by CTV news on the 7th of December. You can visit our Press Review page to see it and other stories about the LBPSB community, or click here to watch the video. 

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.