A special evening in support of some very special young people!

for Pearson News by Cindy Finn

It was a warm and sunny late summer day – perfect conditions to visit a local vineyard all in support of a great cause. On September 21, 2023, Light a Dream hosted a wine tasting evening held at Vignoble Souffle de Vie. This lovely winery, tucked away at the corner of the island in Senneville, was the perfect location for friends, students, and colleagues to gather to savour some local wines and socialize, all while raising funds for a very special non-profit organization known as Light a Dream (LAD).

Light a Dream is a non-profit organization that supports neurodiverse young adults in learning authentic job training skills and deepening socialization opportunities. Light a Dream operates a boutique located in the Valois Village where Lester B. Pearson students and alumni work to make, market, and sell candles and other accessories to the public. A variety of products and hand painted bags are sold at reasonable prices and allow student to showcase their strong artistic talents. Local organizations can also book candle-making workshops and other special events at the store.

Light a Dream President Roseann Martorana, Vice President Neil Himal and SOUFFLE DE Vie manager and sommelier Lucas

The Lester B. Pearson School Board has enjoyed an active partnership with Light A Dream for the last 25 years, and many familiar school board faces were on hand the evening of September 21st. The evening was a resounding success with over 80 people in attendance. In addition to having the winery staff explain the various red wine and rose vintages produced on-site, the event featured VIP tours, raffles and a silent auction. Live entertainment was provided by the band Elipsis made up of students from Westwood Senior High School and the duo Meiling Fong and Nick Gallant.

Events like these are not possible without the support of individuals and merchants in the West Island community. In the words of LAD President Roseann Martorana, “Thank you to our generous sponsors and benefactors. Once again, we have come together in support a wonderful program that helps us all appreciate the abilities of these dynamic students”.

The members of the Light a Dream board of directors at the Souffle de vie vineyard

All of the proceeds raised during this event will go towards maintaining the storefront operations of the Light a Dream boutique. This is critical because, according to Roseann Martorana, “the money we raise at our events, like the wine tasting we held in September, means the candle boutique can keep its doors open, students can continue to learn important life skills and gain work experience, and alumni have a place to connect with friends and the community”.

The Light a Dream boutique is located at 63B Donegani in Pointe-Claire and is open Monday through Saturday. The students and alumni who work at Light a Dream would love to have you visit!

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.