Maple Grove Elementary is Hoping to Create a New Generation of Environmental Change Makers

by Karina Iermieri

In December, a group of grade 3 students from Maple Grove Elementary participated in a hands-on candle making workshop with the support of Alvéole (a nature-based bee program that offers endless opportunities for cross-curricular educational exploration). Each student made their own hand-dipped beeswax candle while exploring the history of this centuries-old practice.

This workshop provided children with the opportunity to understand, engage and learn from honeybees while connecting with the natural environment. Doing so by developing science, technology skills.

Through the study of honeybees and other pollinators, students have learned about the importance of a healthy food supply and have begun developing the skills necessary to act as environmental change makers, especially by learning how to protect the dwindling honey bee population.

Maple Grove is proud to have a hive on the roof of the school. This initiative began in 2021. Since then, they have harvested many jars of honey as well as helped protect these pollinators. This project has had a positive impact on the environment as well as on students.

One Response

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.