by Chiara Michakis

Chiara Michakis is a PCHS IB student in her final year of High School. A year and half ago, she and her friend Julian Rosa lost one of their best friends.  His name was Tristano Ricci, and he passed away from Osteo-Sarcoma cancer.


Chiara knew Tristano since they were both in Kindergarten.

For their IB project, they wanted to raise awareness and money to set up a few scholarships under Tristano’s name.  Their objective is to raise as much money as possible to create this scholarship and help his legacy continue. The award will go to a student who has similar traits to Tristano, who was a fighter, full of energy, very intelligent, an amazing athlete, a sweetheart, cared for others, and had that special smile that always left a mark.

Tristano Ricci

To raise money, they decided to organize a Futsal Tournament for PCHS students & teachers. It seemed a fitting way to honour an excellent athlete such as Tristano. The entry fee is set at $5, but with a donation of $10 or more it includes 2 hotdogs and a drink.

The pair will also be collecting extra donations if should people wish to contribute, and will also be holding a raffle, and has received donations of prizes. All the money raised will be donated to the Tristano Ricci scholarship fund.

Tristano and Chiara

The scholarship will officially be known as The Tristano Ricci scholarship, and people are asked to use the hashtag #RememberingAFighter to help spread the word.

The charity fundraising will take place on the 10th of November 2022 at Pierrefonds Community High School, 13800 Boul. de Pierrefonds, Pierrefonds, QC H9A 1A7 at 3pm to 7pm. Tickets are available at the gym doors after school on the 10th only.

Chiara Michakis