A Day to Remember on Macdonald Campus

by Dan Mullins

The oak trees around Memorial Field on Macdonald Campus in Ste. Anne de Bellevue were planted after World War I to memorialize the students who had left their studies to serve their country and who never returned. On a cold, windy and wet Thursday in November, a crowd gathered to remember their sacrifice and that of countless other fallen Canadian soldiers and to honour veterans.

Students from Macdonald High School, Edgewater Elementary, Dorset Elementary, St-Patrick’s Elementary, Pierre Elliot Trudeau Elementary, and Birchwood Elementary marched behind a piper past the oaks of Memorial Field and a Tactical Armoured Patrol Vehicle to participate in this year’s Remembrance Day events.

The snow-covered field was ringed by students and staff of the LBPSB schools, McGill University and John Abbott College, along with other onlookers, as the snow turned to sleet and proceedings began. Many notable guests rose to deliver their tribute, including the Honourable J. Michel Doyon, Lt. Governor of Quebec, retired Master Warrant Officer Rick Carmel of the Black Watch.

The Macdonald High School Band plays 'O Canada'

Mac was well represented, as teacher and veteran Ted Duckworth and Principal Dion Joseph spoke, and student Emilie Mitchell also rose to recite a poem entitled “What Lest We Forget Stands For” which was written by Mac’s 2022-2023 co-valedictorian Michelle Clahane.

Movingly, 98-year-old Joe Maxwell, a WWII veteran, rose to read “The Act of Remembrance” by Laurance Binyon. Members of the Macdonald High School band played “O Canada” as members of the military saluted.

Joe Maxwell, a WWII veteran, recites "The Act of Remembrance" beside Rick Cartmel, retired Master Warrant Officer of the Black Watch.

Two minutes of silence were observed before guests and students proceeded to the permanent War Memorial, where the Lt. Governor laid a wreath.

Ted Duckworth, who served with the Royal Canadian Hussars during the Bosnian deployment from 1999 to 2000 was responsible for coordinating with the other schools and the military and ensuring that the event ran smoothly, and for organizing the event’s Macdonald High School contingent.

Duckworth, Csenar and Golden in uniform in front of Mac High

Ashley Csenar, Warrant Officer of the supplementary reserve, formerly of 34 Combat Engineer Regiment, currently works at Place Cartier Adult Centre and worked at Mac High last year. She was attending with her husband Chief Warrant Officer Mike Golden of 34 Brigade and their sons.

The Honourable J. Michel Doyon, Lt. Governor of Quebec, lays a wreath at the War Memorial

“It’s nice that we can still take an opportunity to reflect on the past,” said CWO Golden. “Even though the two world wars were a long time ago, there are still a lot of conflicts going on today and this is a chance to pause and think about all the ones who serve and are providing safety for us. It’s a good time to just take a minute, relax and enjoy what we have today.”

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.