To Our Readers... and From Our Readers

by Darren Becker

Dear Pearson News readers,
There have always been many reasons to celebrate all the amazing things happening at the Lester B. Pearson School Board. Whether it is highlighting the dedication and passion of our employees or the different achievements of our students throughout the academic year, there are so many reasons to be proud of our community.

This year there is an even bigger reason to celebrate as the LBPSB is marking its 25-year anniversary. The Lester B. Pearson School Board opened its doors on July 1st, 1998, following the merger of six existing school boards.

The school board plans to promote different events and activities during the year to mark its 25 years of excellence in education, including social media campaigns, news articles and commemorative merchandise. There is also a special 25th anniversary logo, while two honorary Co-Chairs of the 25-year celebrations have been named and will act as ambassadors for the school board at different activities.

In this first edition of the Pearson News for the 2023-2024 school year we are featuring several articles about the 25th anniversary celebrations. We hope you enjoy them. As well, since the LBPSB has touched the lives of so many members of the community we had also asked you to share any photos you may have of LBPSB memories over the years. You can see some of these photos below, and we invite you to continue sending them to us at

Happy 25th Anniversary, Lester B. Pearson School Board!

Darren Becker,
Director, Department of Communications and Community Development, LBPSB

Beechwood Elementary Cross-Country Run 2016

PCHS Girls Juvenile Volleyball Champs 2017-2018

Cecil Newman School '99-'04

Former Commissioner Dominic Pavone (left) and Eric Bender (centre) meeting with then-Governor General David Johnston at Mac High in 2016

Riverdale Students & Staff circa 2016

"Scrooge" Cast Members 2013

Memories of Educational Services

Once Upon a Time in Beaconsfield and Ste. Anne's

The Original Terry Fox Elementary in '92-'93

Remembering a Fighter

Head Office Social Committee

Thorndale Elementary '99

From Beacon Hill in '98 to the JRHS Prom in '06

Leave a Reply

Allan Levine

Elected in Pointe-Claire East

Bart Sellitto

Elected in Pierrefonds West

Marion Roberts

Elected in LaSalle South

Diane Ratcliffe

Elected in St. Lazare/Hudson

Daniel O’Reilly

Elected in Verdun/Nun’s Island

Antoinette Modric

Elected in LaSalle North-East

Margaret Manson

Elected in Pointe-Claire West

Victor Levis

Elected in Dollard-des-Ormeaux Centre/West

Joel Hartt

Elected in Beaconsfield North

Howard Solomon

Elected in Roxboro/Pierrefonds East

Barbara Freeston

Elected in Dorval and Dorval Island

Sylvia Di Donato

Elected in Ile-Bizard/Pierrefonds

Frank di Bello

Elected in LaSalle West/Ville St. Pierre

Ann Cumyn

Elected in Ste. Anne de Bellevue/Baie D’Urfe/Beaconsfield South/Senneville

Patrick Carroll

Elected in Lachine

Eric Bender

Elected in Kirkland West

Susan Bartlett-Lewis

Elected in Ile Perrot

Cameron Sherry

Elected in Vaudreuil-Dorion/Hudson East, Les Cedres

Marcus Tabachnick

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux Centre

Joe Zemanovich

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux
West/Kirkland East

Remi Poliquin


Leo La France

Founding Assistant Director General

Catherine Prokosh

Founding Director General

Ralph Tietjen

Parent Commissioner

Steven Tamas

Elected in Dollard des Ormeaux East

Stay current with the Lester B. Pearson School Board!
Enter your email below to be notified when a new issue is published.

N.B.: Lester B. Pearson employees are notified via their work email when a new issue is published — no need to sign up again.